Creating a Newsletter Using Mail Chimp

Quite awhile ago, I signed up for Mail Chimp. It’s a great program that many authors use to send out their newsletters. I’ve recently started playing with it and wanted to share my experience.

  1. I reached out on a couple social media sites and had 21 people agree to join my mailing list (many of whom are friends and family).
  2. I imputed their contact information into the “lists” section on Mail Chimp.
  3. In the “template” section, I started creating a newsletter (more on that in a minute).
  4. When I was satisfied with it, I created a “campaign” but only sent it to close family and friends for their feedback.
  5. The feedback was great, but I have one more problem. I want to include a “freebie” on the newsletter, for all my readers who join. Using a website called InstaFreebie, I created a link for my readers, but the formatting was a mess (it requires a different format than Kindle and Smashwords). So, rather than spending a few hours reformatting my story, I’m looking for a better option. (I’ll let you all know when I find one and share with you how I did it.)

Now, as far as creating my newsletter, I wanted to structure it consistent with my “brand.” Here is a preview of it (in the program):

Mail Chimp Preview

It’s very simple, but there was one idea that guided me as I created it:

  • My newsletter is for my readers, not for me. Therefore, I want to show them I value their time by making it a quick read and sharing information that I think they would want. Hopefully, I was successful in my goal.

Interested in joining my newsletter? Click: Join

About lisamorrowbooks

Lisa Morrow is a life-long reader who treasures fantasy in all forms. Being a middle child in a large family gave her a unique perspective on the world, but few experiences compare to her time spent studying abroad in Cambridge, England and wandering throughout Europe. After her travels, Lisa settled down in Arizona to teach junior high English, and later, to spend time with her young children, husband, and cats. To some people, her life may seem quiet. But to her, every day is spent in a world colored by the imagination of children, and fantastical worlds created by her very own mind.
This entry was posted in #lisamorrow, #OnWriting, Author Newsletter, Dreamer Dwarf, Lisa Morrow, Mail Chimp, Smashwords, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Feel free to comment. I love hearing from my readers!