Amazon Kindle Book Giveaways

Amazon Giveaway Page

Starting an Amazon Kindle Book Giveaway was exciting and confusing. I knew absolutely nothing about how to make one, so I played with it more than anything else, while I figured out how to use it as an effective marketing tool.

      After I ran various contests, I learned a lot, so check it out:

      • Things to know about running a giveaway:
        • YOU pay for your own books as prizes.
        • YOU select how many prizes will be given away, so you know the cost of the contest before it runs.
      • Giveaway One:
        • I found a section on the bottom of my book product page that said something like “run a giveaway.” I clicked on it and started the process.
        • Initially, I chose two books as prizes.
        • There is a section where you can “require” participants to do something in order to enter the contest, for example: follow you on Twitter, follow you on Amazon, etc. I didn’t make any additional requirements.
        • The one thing I did do was this:
          • You are allowed to type a very short, 250 character response, to the people who win and lose your contest.
          • On both messages, I included a link to my email newsletter sign up.
        • There are two other major sections:
          • The first section, requires that you decide how people will win:
            • First come, first win
            • Random
            • Or something like, every third person wins
          • The other area actually isn’t that confusing, but I was confused the first time I tried this contest. You get to select a number.
            • I chose 1000, because honestly, I had no idea the response I would get.
            • My assumption was that no matter how many people entered the contest, two people would receive free books.
              • I was wrong.
            • At the end of the seven day contest, I had around 350 people enter.
            • And NO winners…
            • It was more than a little disappointing, so I jumped right into the second contest.
          • Giveaway Two:
            • This time, I setup the contest the exact same way, but I made two changes that had a hugely different outcome.
            • I made the contest out of a couple hundred, instead of a thousand. (My thought process being that I KNEW I could get 350 people entering my contest in the same amount of time.)
            • And, I required people follow me on Amazon.
            • So, after the same seven days, I had ZERO people enter the contest.
            • Again, no prizes given away.
          • Current Giveaways:
            • I’m currently running giveaways for “To Kill a Wizard” and Circe: The Beginning.
              • Circe: The Beginning has two prizes available, NO additional requirements (like following me on Amazon), and will have two winners out of two hundred.
              • To Kill a Wizard” (which has had two unsuccessful giveaways) has two prizes, no additional requirements, and will have two winners out of fifteen.

The last thing I want to mention is that I couldn’t find the giveaway dashboard anywhere, initially. So, here is a link to it::

https://www.amazon.com/giveaway/host/dashboard?

        And here is a screenshot of the page:

Amazon Giveaway

        I’m not sure how my final giveaways will pan out, but I learned a lot about the process. Hopefully, my fumbling exploration of this marketing tool will help all of you with your own giveaways.
About lisamorrowbooks

Lisa Morrow is a life-long reader who treasures fantasy in all forms. Being a middle child in a large family gave her a unique perspective on the world, but few experiences compare to her time spent studying abroad in Cambridge, England and wandering throughout Europe. After her travels, Lisa settled down in Arizona to teach junior high English, and later, to spend time with her young children, husband, and cats. To some people, her life may seem quiet. But to her, every day is spent in a world colored by the imagination of children, and fantastical worlds created by her very own mind.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Amazon Kindle Book Giveaways

  1. Wow, thanks for this information. @sheilamgood at Cow Pasture Chronicles

Feel free to comment. I love hearing from my readers!

