Come to the Dark Side

Dark Side

There is something intoxicating about writing a story and constantly asking, what more can I do to this character? And the pleasure of the story is only intensified when you ask, what’s the next unexpected twist? But these are exactly the questions I asked myself each step of the way with my latest story for an upcoming anthology.

If you haven’t played this game with your characters, everyone, play it, because the result was an amazing writing experience, and an even more amazing result (imagine me saying this humbly).

And here is where I had a revelation. One that’s had me pausing in the middle of everyday tasks, to think…

There’s so much more freedom when you don’t love your characters.

There’s so much more freedom when you’re willing to cross over to the dark side.

I started this story in such a different way than my ones in the past. Instead of creating a character who felt real to me, and a plot that fascinated me, I came up with a general idea and wrote. As crazy as it might sound, I’m so glad I tried something new. I’m, without a doubt, going to be doing this a lot more, because this story has turned into something truly special.

I’ve created an unexpectedly complex character that has to overcome nearly impossible odds (which, of course, I forced onto her). I’ve created a plot that keeps me reading, over and over again, grinning at my absolute wickedness.

Everyone whose read it has loved it. Loved it!

This is what writing is all about.

I’ll let you all know when the story comes out, so you can let me know if this new writing process was as successful as I feel it has been.

About lisamorrowbooks

Lisa Morrow is a life-long reader who treasures fantasy in all forms. Being a middle child in a large family gave her a unique perspective on the world, but few experiences compare to her time spent studying abroad in Cambridge, England and wandering throughout Europe. After her travels, Lisa settled down in Arizona to teach junior high English, and later, to spend time with her young children, husband, and cats. To some people, her life may seem quiet. But to her, every day is spent in a world colored by the imagination of children, and fantastical worlds created by her very own mind.
This entry was posted in #OnWriting, #writersRT, #Writing Tips, Character Development, Character-Driven Novels, Creating Characters, Darkside, Dreamer Dwarf, Lisa Morrow, Tips for Writers, Uncategorized, Writer's Life, Writing, Writing Advice and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Feel free to comment. I love hearing from my readers!

