A Few Nuggets

Weird Creature

I’m sorry if I’ve been a bit MIA lately, but there are a few nuggets of information I thought worth sharing. A few… what to do, and what not to do, when writing a short story.

But first, you might be wondering what I’ve been up to… well, I’ve been working on The Goddess of Death, the next story in my Dessi series, along with a new short story for an anthology that will be coming out in the next couple of months. The first short story in my series in now in the top 100 in three categories, so life is going pretty well. But additionally, I feel I’m growing stronger as a writer, both from writing almost daily, to reading almost daily.

Yet, after reading a recent anthology, I discovered a few things that made me say, “I have to keep that in mind,” and a few, “I should never, ever do that.” I’ll share those discoveries with you here:

  • Keeping your readers on their toes, not just engaged, but guessing, makes a story fun to write and to read.
  • There are some stories that really should come with a warning, lol. I swear, I’ve been haunted by a few. And while that shows great writing, I still wish I hadn’t read the stories.
  • Nearly any genre can be exciting to read, if done well.
  • Anthologies shouldn’t just be an author’s excuse to write something new in their current world, or to give their fans something new to buy. If the piece doesn’t really tell a story, it shouldn’t be written.
  • If you’re going to write a predictable story, it better be written so well that the “journey” is worth it.
  • A strong character, whether “good” or “bad,” can keep a reader fascinated to the very end.

Happy writing, everyone! And, I hope you’re having a wonderful holiday season!

About lisamorrowbooks

Lisa Morrow is a life-long reader who treasures fantasy in all forms. Being a middle child in a large family gave her a unique perspective on the world, but few experiences compare to her time spent studying abroad in Cambridge, England and wandering throughout Europe. After her travels, Lisa settled down in Arizona to teach junior high English, and later, to spend time with her young children, husband, and cats. To some people, her life may seem quiet. But to her, every day is spent in a world colored by the imagination of children, and fantastical worlds created by her very own mind.
This entry was posted in #Kindle, #lisamorrow, #OnWriting, #TheSeaGoddess, #tokillawizard, #Writing Tips, 7 Evil Dwarves, Amazon, Author's Life, Authors, Creating a Fantasy World, Creating Characters, Creating Worlds, Creativity, Daily Writing, Dreamer Dwarf, Life, Lisa Morrow, Uncategorized, Writer's Life, Writing, Writing Advice, Writing Life, Writing Tips and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Feel free to comment. I love hearing from my readers!

