Non-Writing Responsibilities of an Indie Author

tree-and-storm-2

The next couple of months are going to be a little crazy for me. The plan is to release two of my short stories, in the world of Tarak, before releasing the first novel in the series To Kill a Wizard. So far, I’m running a bit behind in my “schedule,” because all of the non-writing stuff that goes into self-publishing is getting in the way.

These are some of the things that have been driving me crazy, that I had no idea would take up so much of my time:

  • Creating a marketing “plan”
  • Converting all my books to the proper format for each retailer. (Right now, I’m working on Smashwords.)
  • Making sure I have the right cover for each work, and that they are formatted correctly.
  • AND making sure all the information I provide actually shows up accurately at each place.

I will say, after the past couple of months working with all these programs, I can see why established writers pay someone to do a lot of these things. It kills me to spend so much time on all of this stuff when I could be writing. Even though I enjoy the control publishing as an indie author gives me, I can see why one of the reasons people go traditional is to avoid having to spend their time on all this non-writing stuff.

A fellow author of mine pays someone about thirty dollars to put their book in each format for them. At first, I thought this was crazy. Now, I plan to keep a special account of anything I make off my first works, so I can hopefully pay someone to do the formatting next time.

What do all of you think? Does the formatting get easier? Or is it smarter just to pay someone?

About lisamorrowbooks

Lisa Morrow is a life-long reader who treasures fantasy in all forms. Being a middle child in a large family gave her a unique perspective on the world, but few experiences compare to her time spent studying abroad in Cambridge, England and wandering throughout Europe. After her travels, Lisa settled down in Arizona to teach junior high English, and later, to spend time with her young children, husband, and cats. To some people, her life may seem quiet. But to her, every day is spent in a world colored by the imagination of children, and fantastical worlds created by her very own mind.
This entry was posted in #lisamorrow, #OnWriting, #tokillawizard, Author's Life, Balance and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Feel free to comment. I love hearing from my readers!

