Reading as a Writer

Blue Colors

When I first started writing, I never thought it’d impact the way I read to quite the extent that it has. But it did. Now, I find there are books I absolutely cannot stand, simply because of the way they’re written… novels that, as just a reader, might not seem that bad.

For example, I recently started reading a new romance series. I was really enjoying the creativity of the world and the depth of the characters, until I realized the plot seemed non-existent. The more I paid attention to the plot, the more I was aware that there was no plot. Nothing drove these characters or challenged these characters, beyond the complications that just sprung up from chapter to chapter.

I still enjoy the series, but I find myself constantly thinking, my writing group would never let me get away with that.

But now, let’s talk about books I love even MORE as an author. Of course, my mind immediately snaps to Harry Potter, but I’d rather discuss a less well-known novel. Namely, Dragon’s Winter by Elizabeth A. Lynn. It is an absolutely amazing book! I think it’s the first novel I read where I realized it was possible to love and empathize with a character who may do some things that, by all logic, are unforgivable.

She spins the story of man who is unable to transform into a dragon, because his younger brother has stolen his amulet. He seems to have a great reluctance to confront or harm his brother, because he feels guilty for something that isn’t his fault… that he has inherited the ability to transform, while his brother did not. I empathized with both characters until his younger brother crosses a line, bringing cruelty on a level that is unforgivable on every level.

This book captured me, not just because of the unique world, but because of its main character, a complicated man who is riddled with flaws. I think it takes an incredibly skilled writer to create a character who crosses so many lines, but who the reader can’t stop rooting for.

What are some books you absolutely love?

Like my posts?  Check out my books available on amazon at: Lisa Morrow

About lisamorrowbooks

Lisa Morrow is a life-long reader who treasures fantasy in all forms. Being a middle child in a large family gave her a unique perspective on the world, but few experiences compare to her time spent studying abroad in Cambridge, England and wandering throughout Europe. After her travels, Lisa settled down in Arizona to teach junior high English, and later, to spend time with her young children, husband, and cats. To some people, her life may seem quiet. But to her, every day is spent in a world colored by the imagination of children, and fantastical worlds created by her very own mind.
This entry was posted in #lisamorrow, #OnWriting, Authors, Books, Dreamer Dwarf, Novels, Reading, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reading as a Writer

  1. I downloaded, Dragon’s Winter by Elizabeth A. Lynn, and can’t wait to read! I too love to find little known good authors. It’s like a treasure hunt. Thanks for the recommendation. @jeancogdell at Jean’s Writing

  2. aeonigni says:

    It sounds like a great book – and a great reason to love it! Going into Harry Potter for a moment, to me, the most interesting character in the series was Snape, for precisely the reason you mentioned above. He was the most complicated, possibly the most talented, and driven by a terrible past that didn’t really come to light until nearly the end of the series. I would love to read a romance novel where someone like Snape gets his woman. Time to start writing ghost stories, lol!

Feel free to comment. I love hearing from my readers!

