Steps to Self Publishing

Dream

Everyone will have a different experience when it comes to publishing. Some of this will be determined by the route they want to follow:

  • Large publisher
  • Small publisher
  • Self publishing

But there are other factors that are equally important. Basically, how do I take my finished first draft and get it to a published book in my hands?

This is what I’ve done so far:

  • Took first draft and submitted portions of it to my writing group for critique
  • Combed through all feedback, and the entire book, and edited everything
  • Resubmitted it to my writing group as a completed novel
  • Submitted it to a handful of family and friends
  • Took all feedback, complied it, and slowly combed through all the comments, applying what worked
  • Went back through and made sure all the edits worked
  • Read back through as a “reader”
  • Resubmitted book to past readers, as well as, new readers
  • Applied final feedback
  • Read novel again
  • Had an editor comb through it
  • Self published

Okay, so I’ve still got a couple more steps to do before I can self publish, but I am nearly there. And how long has all of this taken? I think it has been about two years.

It’s a bit crazy to realize that, but no one ever said being a writer is easy. It takes a lot of work and dedication. And, I think, a true love of writing.

At the end of the day, maybe no one will even read my book, but there is that flicker of hope that at least a few people will pick it up… and I might have people read my story and enjoy it as much as I enjoyed writing it.

That’s the dream anyway. Then, maybe, all of this will have been worth it.

About lisamorrowbooks

Lisa Morrow is a life-long reader who treasures fantasy in all forms. Being a middle child in a large family gave her a unique perspective on the world, but few experiences compare to her time spent studying abroad in Cambridge, England and wandering throughout Europe. After her travels, Lisa settled down in Arizona to teach junior high English, and later, to spend time with her young children, husband, and cats. To some people, her life may seem quiet. But to her, every day is spent in a world colored by the imagination of children, and fantastical worlds created by her very own mind.
This entry was posted in #OnWriting, Dreamer Dwarf, Final Draft, Finished Novel, Lisa Morrow, self-publishing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Feel free to comment. I love hearing from my readers!

