Happy Almost Halloween

Halloween

This year seems to be speeding past in a blur of nauseating colors. The Halloween decorations have not, in fact, been set up yet. The pumpkins are still not carved, and I have no idea if I’ll attempt to wear something costumey when I take the kids trick-er-treating.

Darn. So much still to do.

I kind of get this pang of guilt when I think of all these things. I really want the holidays to be special for my children, but my mind has been so focused on the day-to-day, I’ve completely lost sight of the big picture.

A leaky faucet? No problem, that’s what we have that home warranty for! What, the faucets are covered, but not the accessing of the faucets. What does that even mean? You have to take apart the entire tub to fix the problem? It’s going to cost a couple grand?

Sigh.

Who needs surgery?   Well, that stinks, but that’s what insurance is for! You say six grand. Really? But the surgery should be our sole focus, not the cost.

Not your problem. Understood.

And then there are the small things, like ants in the kitchen, laundry, and the never-ending pile of dishes. These are the things that have to be done, day in, and day out, or else they turn into larger issues.

If only there were four of me.

All this might make me sound like I’m not looking forward to Halloween, or the holidays in general. But the truth is, I can’t wait. Have you every seen a toddler in a duck costume? Or a baby dressed as a tiger? If not, I’ll tell you one thing, you’d have to be made of ice not to smile. I just need to really focus sometimes on the things that are not a creeping smog of problems, and instead, focus on the things that are truly important.

Like quacking ducks and roaring tigers.

Enjoy the holidays!

About lisamorrowbooks

Lisa Morrow is a life-long reader who treasures fantasy in all forms. Being a middle child in a large family gave her a unique perspective on the world, but few experiences compare to her time spent studying abroad in Cambridge, England and wandering throughout Europe. After her travels, Lisa settled down in Arizona to teach junior high English, and later, to spend time with her young children, husband, and cats. To some people, her life may seem quiet. But to her, every day is spent in a world colored by the imagination of children, and fantastical worlds created by her very own mind.
This entry was posted in #OnWriting, Balance, Being a Mom, Halloween, Stress and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Feel free to comment. I love hearing from my readers!

