I’m Finished My Book, Now What?

I went back and forth about whether to go a more traditional publishing route or to self-publish. Just recently, I finally decided what to do… self-publish.

This book is so important to me that I really want to make the right decisions. I honestly dream about having readers who “just can’t wait for my next book.” Maybe that’s silly, but it’s true. And when I weighed all my options, I realized that self-publishing would give me the most control over my book. I won’t just be sending my work out there to maybe get read by an agent or publisher, someday. It will be up to me when my book is available to the world.

But with that control, comes a lot of work. A list of things I needed to do slowly started forming in my head, then got typed up on a paper. I went from feeling like, yay, I’m done, to IT has begun.

These are some of the things I’m working on:

  • Writing my Blurb
  • Getting my Cover Designed
  • Finding a Line Editor
  • Figuring out CreateSpace
  • Figuring out Kindle Direct Publishing
  • Marketing
  • Book Formatting

These things might not seem that complicated, but believe me, they are!

I’ve got this perfectionist inside of me, who has been tied up and gagged for years, because if I let her out, I’ll go nuts. But with something as precious as my book, she’s struggling to assert herself. Just this weekend, I spent two hours looking at the headers and footers for various books, and messing around with my own.

Maybe no one will care whether my page numbers end up on the top of my pages, or the bottom, nor whether my name or the book’s name is included in the headers, but I care!

And that’s just the beginning. Formatting may be the death of me! I swear figuring out my “gutters,” as well as, the indents for lines, pages, and paragraphs is crazy. What seemed perfectly fine when I was typing it, is not the right format for a book being put in actual print. And guess what? The formatting is different for an Ebook! Who could’ve guessed?

But with all this said, this next step of being a writer is so neat… and scary. Just a couple years ago, being almost ready to put a book out there was little more than a dream. Now, it’s almost reality. No matter how stressed I get, I can’t lose sight of that.

About lisamorrowbooks

Lisa Morrow is a life-long reader who treasures fantasy in all forms. Being a middle child in a large family gave her a unique perspective on the world, but few experiences compare to her time spent studying abroad in Cambridge, England and wandering throughout Europe. After her travels, Lisa settled down in Arizona to teach junior high English, and later, to spend time with her young children, husband, and cats. To some people, her life may seem quiet. But to her, every day is spent in a world colored by the imagination of children, and fantastical worlds created by her very own mind.
This entry was posted in #OnWriting, Dreamer Dwarf, Formatting, Lisa Morrow, Novels, publishing, self-publishing, Writing, Writing Advice, Writing Tips, YA and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Feel free to comment. I love hearing from my readers!

