Multitasking to the Extreme

Right now I’m working on several things. Jumping between projects is either going to keep me focused on my writing, or drive me absolutely nuts, but I decided to shake things up a bit.

One night last week, I had a great idea for a short story. It started with an idea to create a character who lacked one of the five senses, so I’d have to push myself further with her other senses. Then, I created a “world” in which lacking this sense was actually safer than having it. From there, I tried to write a short piece with high tension. I have no idea if I succeeded, but I felt a huge sense of accomplishment when it was done.

During the week, I’ve been working on my “completed” young adult novel. The first forty-percent makes me so proud. The rest of it… well, I’m still editing… slowly making my way through it. The major things I’m still trying to work out are to make sure the timeline works, the romance makes sense, and still keep the tension high.

In the evenings, I’ve been working on my urban fantasy romance. I’m new to writing in this genre, so I’m excited to be trying something different. This is also a novella, which adds a new challenge. I’ve got to create a world, characters, and a fascinating plot with high tension, all in around forty-thousand words.

Now, I wish I could say I’m just one-hundred-percent focused on my writing, but I’m not. Life, my family and friends, still always comes first. I’m just trying to cut out a few minutes here and there whenever possible. I realized a long time ago that I’m a lot happier when I take this “me” time to get my ideas out on paper.

But all of this has made me curious; do you work on one piece at a time or multiple pieces? And whatever you do, why do it this way?

About lisamorrowbooks

Lisa Morrow is a life-long reader who treasures fantasy in all forms. Being a middle child in a large family gave her a unique perspective on the world, but few experiences compare to her time spent studying abroad in Cambridge, England and wandering throughout Europe. After her travels, Lisa settled down in Arizona to teach junior high English, and later, to spend time with her young children, husband, and cats. To some people, her life may seem quiet. But to her, every day is spent in a world colored by the imagination of children, and fantastical worlds created by her very own mind.
This entry was posted in #OnWriting, Dreamer Dwarf, Lisa Morrow, Writing, Writing Advice, Writing Life, Writing Process, Writing Tips and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Feel free to comment. I love hearing from my readers!

