Write for Your Genre

I’ve heard different thoughts on how important or unimportant it is to keep in mind your genre while writing, but for me, I’ve discovered that it is essential.  Young adult fantasy is a genre I’ve written quite a bit in, but recently, I started a high fantasy novel for adults.  If I played by the same rules I usually do, this novel would not work at all.  High fantasy allows for a lot of description and exposition, whereas young adults readers typically lose interest if you don’t get right into the action.

Both genres are really enjoyable to write in, for completely different reasons, but dabbling in high fantasy has been incredibly fun for me.  Usually I have to focus so much on making things fast-paced in my YA novels, I don’t get to go into all the details I want to include.  My high fantasy novel is fulfilling my craving to be detailed, while also allowing me to explore my new goal: to use powerful details, rather than lots of details.

I know for some people, they write their novel, and then decide on their genre and audience.  It is amazing to me that other writers are able to do this, but as I’ve discovered, I need a little more structure than that.  What about you?

About lisamorrowbooks

Lisa Morrow is a life-long reader who treasures fantasy in all forms. Being a middle child in a large family gave her a unique perspective on the world, but few experiences compare to her time spent studying abroad in Cambridge, England and wandering throughout Europe. After her travels, Lisa settled down in Arizona to teach junior high English, and later, to spend time with her young children, husband, and cats. To some people, her life may seem quiet. But to her, every day is spent in a world colored by the imagination of children, and fantastical worlds created by her very own mind.
This entry was posted in Dreamer Dwarf, Genre, Lisa Morrow, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Feel free to comment. I love hearing from my readers!

