Stop Apologizing

One of my characters is angry and hateful.  My fellow writers loved this character.  As the story progressed, the other writers started to have more and more trouble connecting with this character.  No one could put their finger on what was wrong at first, until someone finally figured it out.  My character was starting to continually “apologize” for all her negative traits.  It made her suddenly less interesting and less real.

I find myself constantly apologizing for the things I don’t like about myself, but this doesn’t mean that every character I have needs to be the same way.  If anything, it means the exact opposite.  Sometimes people, just like characters, simply need to accept their flaws and move on with their lives (or with the story).  Not doing so often holds people back from fully living their lives.  I also think it holds characters back.  It makes them seem like they are trying to be perfect.  And as much as people might thing otherwise, most people love characters, and people, for their imperfections more than anything else.

Therefore, I have decided to try to embrace my own flaws and allow my characters to embrace theirs as well.  Reading a book with a constantly apologetic character could get really annoying, really fast.  And if there is one thing I don’t want to do, it is to annoy my readers.

About lisamorrowbooks

Lisa Morrow is a life-long reader who treasures fantasy in all forms. Being a middle child in a large family gave her a unique perspective on the world, but few experiences compare to her time spent studying abroad in Cambridge, England and wandering throughout Europe. After her travels, Lisa settled down in Arizona to teach junior high English, and later, to spend time with her young children, husband, and cats. To some people, her life may seem quiet. But to her, every day is spent in a world colored by the imagination of children, and fantastical worlds created by her very own mind.
This entry was posted in Characters, Creating Characters, Dreamer Dwarf, Lisa Morrow, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Feel free to comment. I love hearing from my readers!

