Running down a Dark Alley

For some reason my characters always seem to run down dark alleys.  How do they get there?  I’m not really sure.  But time and again, there they are, running down dark alleys.  Maybe this doesn’t seem very interesting to you, but I’ve started writing in different genres recently, which has led me to wonder if my writing style will stay the same regardless of the genre.

This leads me to my main question: should an author’s style remain the same regardless of what genre they write in, or should their style actually change in every genre?  I know the voice should change because each new character has a new voice, but as I’m coming into my own unique style, I’m starting to notice unique things that seem to consistently pop up in my writing.  Like Dark Alleys.

So, is that okay?  If most of my characters end up in dark alleys, is that just one of the funny things I’ll do as a writer?  Or, does it mean I need to come up with some new settings?  Either way, it makes me laugh a little just thinking about how much I’m over thinking something so seemingly pointless.

About lisamorrowbooks

Lisa Morrow is a life-long reader who treasures fantasy in all forms. Being a middle child in a large family gave her a unique perspective on the world, but few experiences compare to her time spent studying abroad in Cambridge, England and wandering throughout Europe. After her travels, Lisa settled down in Arizona to teach junior high English, and later, to spend time with her young children, husband, and cats. To some people, her life may seem quiet. But to her, every day is spent in a world colored by the imagination of children, and fantastical worlds created by her very own mind.
This entry was posted in Dreamer Dwarf, Genres, Life, Lisa Morrow, Setting, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Feel free to comment. I love hearing from my readers!

