Where to Start

I’ve been trudging along, barely editing my book for the past few months.  Life, as always, seems to be getting in the way a lot, and when I finally have a chance to sit down and work on my book, it feels more like a job than it ever has before.  I know that’s what writing is, work, but it is also supposed to be work I enjoy.  Otherwise, why would I do it?  So, I have taken a bit of a break from my novel to play around with some other ideas and to read a little.

Reading is also usually a really pleasant way to pass my time, except that I’ve started reading some books written by an absolutely exceptional author who makes me feel motivated to write more.  The way she creates her world and her people is on a level that is awe-inspiring.  It makes me wonder how she created it all.  Did she spend months and months just mapping out her world and how it worked before ever putting pen to paper?  Or did she start writing a story and the world just came together for her?

The new idea I’ve been working on, that’s supposed to be my fun break from editing, now makes me pause.  I wonder if I should be mapping this world out carefully before writing, or just enjoying writing.

It’s all just a complicated mess where all roads lead right back to me not writing.  But, at least, in talking to my fellow writers, I’m not alone in my struggles to stay focused on my work.

About lisamorrowbooks

Lisa Morrow is a life-long reader who treasures fantasy in all forms. Being a middle child in a large family gave her a unique perspective on the world, but few experiences compare to her time spent studying abroad in Cambridge, England and wandering throughout Europe. After her travels, Lisa settled down in Arizona to teach junior high English, and later, to spend time with her young children, husband, and cats. To some people, her life may seem quiet. But to her, every day is spent in a world colored by the imagination of children, and fantastical worlds created by her very own mind.
This entry was posted in Life, Motivation, Self-Discipline, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Where to Start

  1. I know how you feel!! I’ve been trying to settle into editing my second draft and I’m pushing papers around my desk for the last three weeks. I don’t know where/how to start constructively and effectively. It all seems so vast. Yesterday I began reading my manuscript in its entirety, taking down notes on each chapter on what I felt was missing for the reader – have I shown my characters conflict strongly enough?; will my readers know what the story is about in the first chapter?? I also began doing a synopsis of the main points in each Chapter – the 10 actions that move the story along in each chapter. From here, I hope to look at whether the action moves at a good pace and mostly asking myself – am I getting bored here????

    The vastness is scary though but I am setting myself targets every day, so at least I feel I am making progress – today, for example is to finish the chapter action points for the first 5 chapters.

    Best of luck to you too
    Nic 🙂

Feel free to comment. I love hearing from my readers!

