Staying Focused

Most of us do not have the luxury to stay home and write full-time as a career.  We have other responsibilities: school, kids, spouses or significant others, friends, family, chores, and even just life.  Writing can often fall to the side, to be treated as some forgotten hobby.  I think this is normal.  Sometimes we have more time, and other times less.

So how do we stay motivated?  For me, I try to remind myself that I’m not just writing for enjoyment, this isn’t just a hobby to me.  I am hoping to one day turn writing into a full-time career (as I know many of us are).  Therefore, I try to look at writing as less of a hobby and more as a job, I really, really love.

How do you stay motivated?  How do you stay focused?

About lisamorrowbooks

Lisa Morrow is a life-long reader who treasures fantasy in all forms. Being a middle child in a large family gave her a unique perspective on the world, but few experiences compare to her time spent studying abroad in Cambridge, England and wandering throughout Europe. After her travels, Lisa settled down in Arizona to teach junior high English, and later, to spend time with her young children, husband, and cats. To some people, her life may seem quiet. But to her, every day is spent in a world colored by the imagination of children, and fantastical worlds created by her very own mind.
This entry was posted in Motivation, Organizing Writing, Self-Discipline, Staying Motivated, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Feel free to comment. I love hearing from my readers!

