Late Night Musings

Lately, I’ve been thinking a lot about writing and inspiration.  Perhaps because I’m revising and editing my novel once again, knowing very well that it’s not quite where I want it to be, and musing about writing and inspiration is far easier than continuing the sometimes tedious task of “perfecting” my novel.

Thinking about questions without answers is less complicated and more enjoyable than trying to untangle problems that actually have answers, but ones that are harder to solve.  Reality often has problems with answers, but the choices we’re given often leave us feeling as if we must choose the lesser of two evils.  At least when I write, the difficult choices my characters face were created by me.

So perhaps I’m not so much thinking about writing and inspiration, but trying to distract myself with this topic.  Instead, I think that my mind has begun to cling to the short tidbits of news that I catch before changing the channel to Merlin or Once Upon a Time.  But even as a town sheriff battles a wicked stepmother, my thoughts circle back to people without homes or jobs, and I wonder if there’s enough power in the realm of fantasy to overwhelm the louder voices of reality.

Okay, I’m going to blame these dark musings on the late night hour, and tomorrow I think I’m going to pick up the second book in my series and write something new.  Writing something new always seems to blur the lines of reality and fantasy to the point where I can convince myself that some magical force will solve all of life’s not so magical problems.

Dreamer Dwarf

About lisamorrowbooks

Lisa Morrow is a life-long reader who treasures fantasy in all forms. Being a middle child in a large family gave her a unique perspective on the world, but few experiences compare to her time spent studying abroad in Cambridge, England and wandering throughout Europe. After her travels, Lisa settled down in Arizona to teach junior high English, and later, to spend time with her young children, husband, and cats. To some people, her life may seem quiet. But to her, every day is spent in a world colored by the imagination of children, and fantastical worlds created by her very own mind.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Feel free to comment. I love hearing from my readers!

